Press Releases

27 January 2011

Press Release No. 36/11


Shillong, January 27, 2011: Along with the rest of the country, Meghalaya too celebrated the 61st anniversary of Republic Day with much pomp and gaiety in all its District Headquarters, Civil Sub-Divisions and Administrative Units.

At Shillong, the Governor of Meghalaya, Mr. R. S Mooshahary unfurled the National Flag at the J N Sports Complex, Polo Grounds and took the salute at an impressive march past of nine contingents which included State Police, Assam Regiment, BSF, CRPF, Home Guards, DEF, NCC boys and girls, Scouts and Guides. Speaking on the occasion, the Governor remembered with reverence the patriots of the State – U Tirot Sing, U Kiang Nongbah and Pa Togan N. Sangma who made supreme sacrifices for the country. He also highlighted the growth of various sectors of the State such as Agriculture, Education, Tourism and Health Services besides others while acknowledging the efforts of various departments such as the Community and Rural Development Department, the Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Department, Information Technology and many more. Other highlights of the day included distribution of the Meghalaya Day Awards where Ms. Badarilin Kharbangar received the U Kiang Nongbah Award for Sports, Mr. Neil Nongkynrih the U Tirot Sing Award for Arts and Literature and Fr. Sunny Joseph Mavelil the Pa Togan N. Sangma Award for Social Service. Tableaux by government departments and NGOs were also presented on the occasion wherein the first prize was bagged by Health Department, the second and third place went to Pla Iew and DRDA respectively.

At Tura, the Deputy Chief Minister, Mr. B M Lanong hoisted the tricolor at MP Stadium, Tura and took the Rashtriya salute of the parade contingents which included the Border Security Force, 2nd MLP Battalion, District Enforcement Force, Home Guards and Bharat Scouts and Guides. The parade was followed by tableaux presentation by various Government Departments and institutions. Later in the day, a State Award was presented to Dr. N A Khan of Baitbari PHC for his outstanding contribution towards Maternity and Child Care. Prizes were also distributed to the winners of different competitions organized during the year long Diamond Jubilee celebrations of the Election Commission of India. Other highlight of the day was the cultural programme presented by various institutions and organisations.

At Jowai, the day was celebrated at Jrisalein Playground wherein Mr. R.C.Laloo, Meghalaya Minister of Forest and Environment etc, unfurled the National Flag and took the salute of an impressive march past of 14 contingents including Police and students from different schools. St Mary Mazzarello School was awarded with First Prize followed by JNV Mukhla School and K.J.P Higher Secondary School, Jowai who won 2nd and 3rd prize respectively. In the tableaux presentation, Meghalaya Rural Development Society walked away with the top honour, while District Industries Centre and Soil and Water Conservation Department, Jowai came second and third respectively. Fire balloons by Dulong Club and Caroline Colony, Cultural Programmes were also displayed during the celebration.

At Nongpoh, the celebration was held at the NSCA Mini Stadium Pahamsyiem, Nongpoh. The Meghalaya Minister in-charge of Home (Police), PWD (Roads), etc, Mr. H D R Lyngdoh unfurled the National Flag and took the salute of an impressive march past of 9 contingents including Police and students from different schools. Tableaux were also presented by different government departments highlighting their works and schemes. Other highlights of the day included songs and dance presented by students and prize distribution to the winners in the tableau presentation and marchpast.

At Sohra Civil Sub Division, Minister for Social Welfare, Printing & Stationeries, Mr. J A Lyngdoh unfurled the Tri Colour and took the Rashtriya salute of the marching contingents comprising of the Meghalaya Police Border Wing and District Armed Branch, NCC Cadets and Schools students at a function held at Sohra Football Stadium, Saitsohpen, Sohra. Other highlights of the day included cultural programme, sports & games and distribution of gift packages to the patients of NRM Hospital and St. John orphanage, Maraikaphon.

At Ampati Civil Sub-Division, Minister for Food & Civil Supplies, Mr. Augustine D Marak unfurled the National Flag and took the salute of the 10 parade contingents comprising of 2nd MLP Battalion, Home Guards and Scouts and Guides at Ampati Mini Stadium. Other highlights of the day’s celebration included cultural programme and tug-of-war played between government employees and the members of the public, besides other sports and games. A friendly football match was also played between Ampati and Dadenggre coaching teams. At Patharkhmah Administrative Unit, Parliamentary Secretary, Dr. A Pariong unfurled the National Flag and took the Rashtriya salute of 2 marching contingents. The day was highlighted by songs and prize distributions.

Press Release No. 37/11


Shillong, January 27, 2011: The two day Diamond Jubilee of the Election Commission of India, organized by the Office of the Sub Divisional Officer (C), Sohra concluded on January 25, 2011 at Saitsohpen Football Stadium, Sohra. As part of the celebration, on January 24, 2011, lectures and singing competition was conducted while on January 25, 2011 which was observed as the 1st National Voters’ Day, the programme included reading of the pledge, issuing of EPIC to new voters, felicitation of oldest voters and prize distribution to winners of different competition.

In the singing competition, ka Sur Nylla, Sohra emerged as the winner followed by Khrang Cultural Club and Marai Youth Club in the 2nd and 3rd place respectively.

On the concluding day, EPIC Cards were also distributed to newly registered voters of which five are from 26-Shella Assembly Constituency and five from 28-Sohra Constituency. Mr. Johnsing Ranee (110 years) of Kutmadan, 26-Shella Assembly Constituency and Mrs. Thoi Mylliem of Umthli ‘B’, 28-Sohra Assembly Constituency were felicitated for being the oldest voters from the Sub-Division.

Back to top